Rewrites

I have three weeks.  If you need to find me, I’ll be sitting somewhere with my laptop, rewriting.

For those of you who posed questions about me applying to a larger range of schools – my list is narrow because I applied to schools that were willingly to accept my pre-req’s and undergraduate course work. I could have additionally applied to Emory and John Hopkins, but that’s about it.

I was not eligible to apply to two schools I liked in Seattle and Boston – because they  required one more full year of chemistry.  Another school asked for Pathophysiology and all the UC’s in California would not accept my upper level course work in English, and Sociology.  They required 100 level courses, which I did not take.  They said my upper level courses were too specific and they wanted to see a broader range of knowledge. Which means Anglophone Literature of the Third World was not accepted but if I had taken English Composition 101, it would have been accepted?

Another program required 3000 direct patient contact (either paid or volunteer hours), which I also did not meet.  Many schools require all course work to be complete before applying, and to apply last fall for entry this fall, that meant all my course work had to be complete by the summer.  Each nursing school has different requirements to apply and I selected schools based on my range of coursework.

(2) Personal Statement

Answer the question, why do you want to be a nurse? Include your academic, professional and life experiences and how they are relevant to the nursing profession. Include you professional goals in nursing.

(3) Personal Statement

Critical thinking skills are an essential aspect of leadership in nursing. Give a specific example of a conflict or challenge you have experienced in which you utilized critical thinking skills to resolved the issue. Why do you see this an as effective use of critical thinking?

(4) Personal Statement

Based upon the Diversity and Inclusion Statement, please address the following question. One of the values in professional nursing practice is the ‘respect for the inherent worth, dignity, and human rights of all individuals.’ Your patients may not share the same ethnicity, culture of set of values as you. Describe a personal scenario you experienced that challenges your core values and explain how you responded.

(5) Personal Statement

What unique contribution will you make to the program, the School of Nursing, and to the nursing profession?

 

Leave a Reply

