Second string – waitlisted

I am not very disappointed but I wanted to make the choice to attend and not have that decision made for me. From the Wait list, there is a very low chance you will be admitted. They consider who declined to attend and will only fill that spot if you match the profile. It is unlikely another non traditional student, woman of color, from a low income background, in her 30’s, from a city will decline the #1 nursing school in the country. I am a firm believer in everything happens for a reason and maybe this means, I can move to Canada or maybe it means I will stay in San Francisco and only pay 1/4 of what I would have paid for tuition at Duke. The interview was informative and it showed me what $100,000 in debt would look like. Is this education worth it? The only major value I saw was all my peers would be smart, push me to be a better nurse. Duke has a 100% pass rate for the Boards, and all graduates have job placements in 6 months post graduation. But still, at the end of the day, I was not certain the school was right for me. I just wanted the opportunity to choose. Onward, interviews at San Francisco State University on Thursday.  

6 Comments

    1. Not so much what they said but what you saw. There was a simulation room of a robot-mannequin that breathes, blinks, and gives birth naturally or by C-section. This room has a two way mirror so an instructor can watch and their are two cameras to record you to offer later feedback. There were other robots too, rolling around, to demonstrate where health care is going. Imagine you are in rural Alaska, and a doctor is only available by video and the robot to help on the consultation. These are some of the resources available.

  1. Lots of nursing schools that won’t leave you $100,000 in debt, have those types of resources. My LPN program at a community college had a simulation mannequin that blinked, breathed, moaned, etc. Many of the hospitals in AZ have them as well for new hire training. And there were a lot of smart people in my classes throughout community college and at Grand Canyon University where I got my BSN. I was one of them, with a 4.0 GPA. Don’t sell other colleges short. What’s going to be the best is finding one that has a good clinical program where you get a good amount of hands on while you’re in school. While in my program I got to watch a c-section while I did several weeks in labor and delivery. I got to take care of a teenager that was in labor and see her through birth while following my assigned nurse. you will get much more from those experiences, than a mannequin. While doing my clinical in ICU, I had to turn off the monitors every couple minutes as a family was letting there loved one go. Then I helped prepare the body for the morgue. Find a school that will give you those experiences. They will change you forever and for the better as a nurse. Those types of experiences will drive you to do better and be better and you will be a better nurse for it in the long run, with a lot less debt.

    Reply

    1. Thanks for sharing. There were significantly many other resources available that I need not mention that make it an outstanding program. There are many places to go to school and I have yet to be accepted.

  2. Have you tried other routes to get to that coveted nurse title? A lot of my classmates were like me, going back to school after being a stay at home mom, or changing careers. We started by applying to a community college nursing program, graduating with our associates degree in Nursing, taking the RN licensing exam, then going on for our BSN. One girl that was in my LPN program, now has her Masters in nursing and a guy I know that was my manager at work and who became an RN a couple years after me, is now finishing up his APRN this year. All I’m saying is there are many routes to take to get where you want to go. I know you have a specific path in mind, but you know what they say about best laid plans? Sometimes they just don’t work out, and you have to find another way. If becoming a nurse is what your passionate about, you’ll find a way, one way or another. I wish you all the luck and good tidings this world has to offer!

    Reply

    1. Community college in SF is actually more competitive. It is less than 10% acceptance rate and acceptance is by lottery. You can throw your name in the hat and it is recycled for up to 6 years. I have applied to both ABSN and MSN programs both in public and private, in state, out of state and out of country. Thanks for the support. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

