Love in the same zip code

I don’t ever write about my love life because it’s not worth sharing, mostly it’s one disaster after another but today I turned into that person. I’ve read stories about people who date by convenience, and I’ve heard of stories about people living together because it’s less rent in populated cities like New York and SF, etc.

Love in the same zip code, might not be possible. My dating profile states, if I can’t bike to you, I’m not interested. I thought that statement would help rule out anyone who lived across the Bay or south Bay. Honestly, if I can’t ride there, I don’t really want to go.

Now, I’ve taken it a step further and I just don’t want to be inconvenienced. I want to date someone that lives on the same MUNI line, or not far with a few transfers. I don’t want to take a bus to get to someone. I don’t want to travel more than 30 minutes. The last time I dated someone who lived in North Beach, I would take an Uber, and that relationship was awful.

My texted conversation actually looked like this:

Where do you live?

I live in the Inner Sunset.

I live in North Beach.

Oh, North Beach, that’s far.

It’s not that far.

No, really it’s far.

Well, maybe by bike.

End of conversation.

He tried again the next day, with inviting me to pizza.

Better attempt.  I suppose I would go to North Beach for pizza.

Leave a Reply

