Rejection, ugh, I hate this feeling

Feeling heartbroken and discouraged today. The outcome was as expected but I held out hope. I received a letter of “not invited to attend UCSF class of 2017…” It was a standard letter from my first choice school. I had hoped for an interview after working so diligently on the application but things are not meant to be, here. I have to wait until February or so to hear back from the other schools. Mostly I am disappointed, and jealous. My classmate received an invitation to interview, and he’s not even all that interested. He is currently busy at the fire academy. I think about him and how our paths diverged and wonder what else could I have done to make my application more competitive. Should I have spent the fall doing something more “medical” instead of working for a foundation? I re-interview this week for that hospital scribe position I had interviewed for last July. They filled all the positions last time, but put me on the top of list for when positions opened again.

I know when things look bleak, there is a lesson to be learned and it was not the right opportunity for me. I am a firm believer in all things happen for a reason, as they are meant to be.  Crossing this school off the list; now opens up new decisions and a different path. I am 75% certain now I will be leaving San Francisco after the spring. I may be accepted to another SF school but given all my choices, it may not be the best school for me. I hate packing up to move.

I hope whichever new city I end up in has archery classes. The good news is, Colorado, North Carolina and British Columbia – Canada are all mountain bike towns and all of them have snow. I have missed the mountains. My friend found this picture today and it makes me feel hopeful.img_3741

4 responses

  1. They will be missing a great person in their classrooms!! So sorry for them!! Liane, as you mentioned, things happen for a reason, so do not worry, I am sure extremely awesome things are waiting for you!! Big hugs!!!

  2. They will be missing a great person in their classrooms!! So sorry for them!! Liane, as you mentioned, things happen for a reason, so do not worry, I am sure extremely awesome things are waiting for you!! Big hugs!!!

  3. The right door will open for you. Sometimes it’s difficult to swallow the hurt of rejection, but what’s right for you will happen.

Leave a Reply

