Week 3 training

I am deeply unsentimental and most the time I do not have feelings. I have few filters. Training as an HIV counselor is challenging me more than I imagined. It has made me doubt if this is the right role for me. Can I do this? Do I want to do this? Each training session is teaching me to communicate with more grace, empathy and to think about my words.

Today, a client said in my observation session, I have been coming here for years to be tested and I appreciate you (the counselor) and (a nod to me-to be counselor) being here. The services and the conversation, I appreciate you normalizing my experiences and making me not feel shame or stigma about my choices. I nearly cried right there. This is the reason you stand up for equality.

Leave a Reply

