Fall plans

I read an article in the NYT today about FB.  It’s users (FB, Instagram, and Messenger) spend on average 50 minutes a day using their platforms.  In perspective, the article said on average, people spend 19 minutes reading, 17 minutes in exercise, daily.  “There are only 24 hours in a day, and the average person sleeps for 8.8 of them.  That means more than one-sixteenth of the average user’s waking time is spent on Facebook.”

I have been off social media for 4 weeks now, having deleted FB, Twitter, Instagram from my phone.  My phone has essentially turned into a simple phone, using limited functionality of an alarm clock, timer, email, phone calls and reading the NYT.  I have regained enormous battery life and time.  I don’t think using apps equated for me with 50 minutes of my life, but I do find more time for other things, like getting ready for school.

The detox from social media was not difficult and I don’t miss it much, but I do feel slightly less in touch from reading into people’s lives, when I often don’t have the energy to reach out.  A simple one line status update or photo was enough to catch up.  But, then I think, what kind of relationship is that anyway, if you don’t have the time to reach out and be present in their lives.

Three more weeks of school, I can see the finish line.  After the spring semester, I will take a one week break to visit Yellowstone National Park, in Wyoming.  I am excited to see wildlife, preferably no grizzly bears, but I would like to see bison, elk, and maybe smaller bears.  Then, I begin 6 weeks of summer school with statistics and online general psychology, while continuing with volunteering, work and drop-in archery days.

In August, after summer school, I will take another break, probably visiting the national parks in Southern California, Death Valley and Joshua Tree.  Then, I will spend August and September completing applications for graduate nursing school.

Plan A: In October-December, I have been accepted into the mountaineering program in Patagonia, Chile.  I cannot yet fund this program.  I am considering a private loan.

Plan B:  Continue with school in August-December, enroll in Spanish and Chinese.  I have not decided which language to brush up on.

Plan C: Get a job.

Leave a Reply

