Freezing your eggs, $20,000

“You should consider freezing your eggs.  It’s something to think about if you want to have children after school.”

My reproductive status came up during a meeting today.  I had an appointment with a chairperson, seeking advice on graduate school and pathways for different career options.  In our discussion, she asked my age and interest in having children.  I told her I wasn’t sure I wanted to have children and she suggested I consider freezing my eggs.

As a woman, it is apparently important when discussing your career goals to consider and discuss fertility.  If a man were in this same situation, discussing his career, I doubt there would be a conversation about one’s ability to have children.  From a fertility website, “A woman is born with all the eggs she will ever have and over time they diminish in number and cellular quality.”  I get it, but it’s not fair.

From the fertility website: egg freezing is beneficial for: “Women who want or need to delay childbearing in order to pursue educational, career or other personal goals.”  Egg freezing, involves hormone-injection to stimulate the ovaries and ripen multiple eggs, same process as in-vitro fertilization.  It takes 4-6 weeks to complete, (the entire process 2 months) and the best part I read – once the eggs have matured, they are removed with a needle placed through the vagina, (under IV sedation and it is not painful.)  The total cost is $10,000 for the procedure, storage is $500 per year, then $5,000 to egg thaw, embryo fertilization and transfer.

I suppose our discussion was too short to discuss adoption, but we did not discuss adoption.  She suggested, I seriously consider the merits of the accelerated 2 year nursing program vs. the 3 year traditional nursing program.  She suggested I research if the programs have the same quality of instruction.  She also suggested in terms of course work, taking more science classes in the fall would not make me a more qualified applicant, but an EMT certification resulting in more direct patient care experience or spending 4 months in another country learning another language would make my application more qualified.  The EMT chairperson also suggested I take the EMT route, it will be the closest to working with patients, to gain hands on experience, to qualify if I am actually interested in nursing.  She said, I should somewhere deep down inside of me, really want to be a nurse.  She also suggested applying to a MPH program, with a focus on epidemology, infectious diseases.  Wouldn’t it be cool, to be, let’s say, in Nicaragua, helping provide vaccinations to girls to prevent cervical cancer?  It would be tangible change, nursing with public health.

 

Leave a Reply

