Week 2, spring semester

If you have any invitations or special announcements, please don’t send them, wait until Memorial Day, at the end of the semester to share them with me.  It is only week 2 of school and I am already overwhelmed and exhausted.  In my two classes, Microbiology and Physiology, we had already 3 quizzes and the chapter reading due today was 50 pages of dense textbook reading.  I feel behind and we haven’t even begun.

I haven’t found a rhythm or routine yet, let alone received my books.  I wake up in the middle of the night, concerned it’s time to go to school or I’ve missed my alarm.  I ride to school, worried, I might get a flat and be late to my 8 am class.

I have already run out of perishable food again.  I am considering finding someone to go to Trader Joe’s weekly for me, buy pre-made salads and fruits, bring them home and put them in the fridge.  I don’t have the time or energy.  I’d like something like a dog walker service, but grocery shopping instead.  I have considering moving to be closer to a grocery store, school or work.  I love living by the park, but is that considering a perk anymore?

Today after class, I stopped by SF General Hospital for a volunteer orientation in the Urgent Care unit, assisting with patient navigation.  I decided this is not the way I’d like to spend my volunteer hours.  Next week, I am trying to schedule an orientation at California Pacific Medical Center, maybe with their hospice care unit or the cancer unit.  Maybe either one of those might be a better fit with my interests and school schedule.

 

Leave a Reply

