Volcan Arenal

Cerro Chato trailHappy new year!

Climbing down the trail, I looked like a big dirt ball. You know when you sometimes say, go play in the dirt, that’s exactly what I did today. We hiked this very strenuous trail to the volcano’s dormant partner, ending with a lake on its summit. The hike was only 5 miles, but with one mile of elevation up. It took us about 3 hours roundtrip. The trail was very muddy and much of it had eroded away. I scrambled a lot, using hands, trees and all my muscles to push myself up and down. I slipped several times on the mud but made it without breaking or bruising anything. I just looked incredibly dirty. Today was my favorite day of our Costa Rican trip. I loved walking all the trails at the Parque Nacional Volcan Arenal. We saw some waterfalls and lovely green pastures. If you have the opportunity to stay here, you should book it at the Arenal Observatory Lodge. 

    
    
    
 

One response

  1. Interesting. I seem to have had a different experience in Arenal. Looks like a great hike though. Will have to do it next time.

Leave a Reply

