Delayed-onset muscle sorenesss is real

One day this week was the perfect running weather, a cool crisp fall day. I ran 3 miles through the dirt trails in Golden Gate Park. For the first time in a long time, I felt sore 8-24 hours after the run. My legs were hating on me, asking why did I go for a run when I normally don’t run?  Why can’t I do anything in moderation?

I always wondered why after a hard workout, the soreness is felt days later. I am learning about the muscles this week and every time I think I’ve mastered a topic, the book becomes more challenging. Muscles are very difficult to learn. It feels like a Russian nesting doll, after you uncover one layer there’s a dozen more.
From my reading… Delayed-onset muscle soreness is caused by microscopic tears in muscle fibers. The inflammatory response to these tears is swelling in the connective tissue surrounding the muscle fibers. The swelling compresses sensory nerve endings in the muscle, causing soreness. Low level exercise increases blood supply to the muscle and speeds recovery. Interesting, right? I’ve also emailed my chem professor about lactic acid reactions and muscles… Waiting his response.  I love learning new things everyday.  It makes me feel filled with fun facts and I love fun facts.  

Leave a Reply

