Happy new year to me

I did not get up at 5:30 am for spin class, nor did I get up at 6:30 for pilates, instead I woke at 8:30 to the sound of my roommate grinding coffee beans in the kitchen. I waited until everyone left the house to start puttering around in my pj’s at 10 am. Today is my first day off in 5 weeks. I didn’t intend to not have a day off in that stretch of time but it just happened with school and work falling on every day of the week.

Today is a celebration of the lunar new year, no work and no school. I love that San Francisco public schools celebrate and honor the lunar new year. Mostly it is because so many of their students and faculty would call out sick. They also moved the celebration of President’s Day to Friday, so students could have Thursday and Friday off instead of Monday and Thursday. Brilliant, I think.

I had high hopes for accomplishing a lot today, starting with spin followed by pilates or a swim, grocery shopping, an urban hike, brunch at a café I have been meaning to visit, a free facial in the afternoon and dinner with a out of town friend. It is now 11 am and the most I hope to accomplish is to get some work in on my bike. Tomorrow will have to wait for grocery shopping. Some days are slower than others and some times it still turns out to be a pretty great day.

Leave a Reply

