What’s your vice?

Some women like to shop for shoes. My vice is gear. Fortunately, I have a slight problem with stuff, I am the anti-stuff. It has nothing to do with feng-shui. Sometimes when I feel like I own too many possessions, I have a physical response. It is difficult to breathe and focus. Somewhere deep in my thoughts, I am afraid of becoming a hoarder. I try to avoid it by keeping a goal for every new item – incoming, there is an outgoing item, either sold or given away. For every item I own, I keep checking, does this bring me joy?

Today, my alpine mountaineering gloves arrived, and I am very excited to use them. I don’t have a plan yet of when I can go mountaineering again (waiting for my rotator cuff injury to heal) but I am literally gearing up for the day I do. (It helps that I work at a place that offers very generous partnerships and discounts with other vendors.)

There are many things I want to do in life, and I think the mountains are calling. I’m ready to work on that path. It will be a little while before I can make that move but I see it.
I don’t know too many people who own ice axes but I want to return to a life style where I can use it again.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

