Moderation

In nutrition class this week, we learned about moderation. I have no concept of the word; my life is always one extreme or the other, with little to no moderation. Whenever I felt I needed more money, I generally would not cut back; instead, I would make more money or get a second job. When I look for a new personal goal, I manage to find the most challenging goal for me, like biking across the U.S, racing an Ironman, sitting in silence for 10 days, or climbing Mt. Everest.

This semester, I’ve decided to try and experiment on learning moderation focused on eating and my health. Instead of increasing exercise like I usual do to maintain calorie intake, I’m going to challenge myself to stop overeating in portions and eat within moderation, controlling my food intake to be more balanced. I will attempt to eat a diet adequate in sufficient amounts of each nutrient, specifically those nutrient dense foods and less of the empty calories. For example, not eating that delicious bag of salty chips by myself.

As many of you know, this is a huge challenge for me. No more eating just raw carrots, or blanching the spinach. Must work on a balanced diet of all food groups of protein, carbs, and veggies for each meal. It would be a lot easier for me to just exercise A LOT to maintain weight and health, as opposed to only focusing on calorie intake.

If you’d like to join me in this experiment, it starts in February for Chinese New Year. I always like to give myself an extra month to start those New Year’s resolutions.

I have one more week to eat all the pizza I want.

Leave a Reply

