Finding your tribe with gratitude

I am overwhelmed by Thanksgiving. Spending the day at the movie theater, or eating turkey, watching football, or shopping on Black Friday… all of it overwhelms me. We should be thankful every day. For years, I spent Thanksgiving abroad with my brother to escape the holiday: Spain, Italy, Japan, Canada, Thailand. Last year, I was in the U.S. for the first time and it was ok. I enjoyed seeing my friend but I could have skipped it too. I thought about doing a turkey trot race or volunteering in a soup kitchen but all were fully booked. This year, I have decided I want to spend the day in solitude in the woods. I want to go camping but don’t have a car or friends who were free. Rather than sulk about either of those issues, I went to Meetup.com and became an event organizer for a 7,000 member group of people in their 20’s and 30’s who like camping/hiking in the Bay area. Meetup’s motto is meet your tribe. Today, Monday morning, as most people are at work sitting at their desk, I posted a hike-camp event and instantly had 17 people join. 17 will hike and 9 who will camp with me. I even arranged carpool for half the group. I spent the last 2 hours creating a full proof itinerary. I’m a little surprised that 17 people want to join me on Thanksgiving Day for a 13 mile, slightly challenging hike. What’s even more interesting are people’s faith in each other, camping and getting into cars with strangers, only moderated by my messages. I know I can lead a group, hike and camp, but what about every one else?

Happy Thanksgiving, a few days early, where ever you are in the world, whomever you are celebrating with and being thankful.

4 responses

  1. This is awesome! I wish I could join you as it sounds like you’re going to have a wonderful time. I am so thankful we met two years ago and I have been able to follow your adventures since.

  2. Leave it to you to make something like that happen! It sounds perfect and I am so glad that you are doing something so fun. I am grateful for you.
    ❤️

Leave a Reply

