Hope is not a strategy but I can still dream

“Almost two-thirds (64 percent) of millennials said they would rather make $40,000 a year at a job they love than $100,000 a year at a job they think is boring…” Quoted from the NYT yesterday. I am not a millennial but I fit some of the general stereotypes.

I am about to go home in two weeks, after one year of settling into San Francisco, for wedding festivities, (sorry NY friends, I won’t see you this time for the quick weekend) but I will return again in October for the wedding, then maybe the next month for Thanksgiving, followed by Christmas…

I can’t yet say to the family, I have a full time job or a new career. I thought by this time I could but I am still holding out, for something that might make me happy, something I can be proud of and at the end of the day feel like I contributed to something greater than myself. I am surprised by how well I can manage by not having a traditional job. I continue to be active and busy. My social calendar is filled. I volunteer. I am able to make ends meet. It is not a sustainable lifestyle but I am very grateful I am not in the 9-5. It is liberating to not be in a job you don’t like or want. I haven’t yet found the job I want or the one I can be happy in, still looking and interviewing often but still waiting and wanting for the right match. I think it might happen.

One response

Leave a Reply

