How to be a grown-up

I finished reading a book called, “Adulting,” how to be a grown-up in 468 Easy (ish) steps by Kelly Williams Brown and I’d like to recommend it to everyone. Maybe, you’re like me, and although most the time you have emotional and intellectual maturity of a grown-up, you’re not really a grown-up. Sometimes, I feel like I am just pretending to be one, some days, I’m not sure I have all my ducks in a row. I can’t even make pancakes and I would likely fail at trying to feed someone other than me.

My favorite line in her book is when dealing with rude people. Her strategy is to pretend they are jellyfish. “When dealing with jellyfish, avoid, neutralize, and, in rare circumstances, poke with a stick.” I don’t know too many rude people, but if I did, next time I’m going to envision them as jellyfish, then poke them with a stick.

Week one of my diet is going well. I have successfully trimmed back eating and the foods I am consuming are much healthier. I hope to have regained control of the situation in time for Chinese New Year, so I can eat one of my favorite New Year treats (bak-hong-gao) sticky, sweet, glutinous rice.

I have also moved past the step of thinking about work and hope to find work soon. I am interested in working for a company that has a positive social impact. At the end of the day, I want to have contributed to something that has potential to influence and change the world, nothing short of that.

Leave a Reply

