Giving and compassion

In the meditation course last month, the theme of giving and compassion for others reoccurred daily. One discourse in particular spoke to me. It is important to earn enough money to support yourself and those that rely on you for their livelihood but all else should be given away (think Bill Gates, Warren Buffett, Mayor Bloomberg)

My 90+ year old grandmother frequently gives money away. Sometimes I wonder if she is crazy and does not understand the sum. Did she really just put a $10 or $20 bill in the hat of a street musician? She isn’t crazy. She knows exactly what she is doing. She gives generously because she believes she can.

This year, I have agreed to fundraise for three charities. It is a little ambitious but I am confident I can reach my fundraising goals.

If I fall short on reaching any of these goals, I have agreed to donate my money to make up the difference. I am unemployed but willingly to give to charity, like my grandmother, because I believe it is the right thing to do.

Please consider a donation with any amount you are comfortable giving. It does not matter the sum, only that the spirit of the donation is given freely to support someone else without any expectation of anything in return.

I give because I know someone once helped me somewhere along the way. They showed me something or gave me an opportunity I would not have experienced otherwise.

Give to one charity or all three, give to the one that speaks to you. I made a new tab on my blog, titled “New Adventures 2013” where you can read about each charity.

To donate for Big City Mountaineers – Mt. Whitney Climb – Summit for Someone, click the link below. Fundraising goal must be complete by April: $4,000
http://www.summitforsomeone.org/sfs.php?page=4&climber=8539

To donate to the Ironman Foundation, please click the link below. Fundraising goal by August: $2,100.
https://www.kintera.org/faf/donorReg/donorPledge.asp?ievent=1048718&supId=377494675

To donate to the Bike the US for MS (coming soon).

If you are unable to give at this time, please send kind thoughts or give a silent prayer or forward this message to others. At the end of each meditation sitting, we are asked to practice “metta” for a few minutes, filling our mind and bodies with thoughts and feelings of goodwill for all.

Thank you, sincerely,
Liane

Leave a Reply

