Ironman Canada 2013!

As I sit in an internet café in Bali, Indonesia (it is raining heavily), I have possibly taken the idea of living a life without limits too far.  I have dreams that I am checking off with rapid speed.  I have always been envious of my friends who are Ironman finishers.  It is a club I have wanted to join ever since my first triathlon.  I have always wondered if I had it in me to compete physically and mentally to make it to the finish line.  Today, I am now on that path. 

I am very excited to announce I have registered for Ironman Canada, in Whistler, British Columbia, on Sunday, August 24, 2013.  I have chosen to race the event through their charitable foundation, so I will be fundraising as well.  Whistler is possibly, my most favorite place in the entire world and I am happy to take part in their inaugural event at this place.   

In training for this event, I have also signed up to Bike the U.S. for MS again, this time, the Northern Tier route, as a route leader.  You read that correctly, I enjoyed biking from the Atlantic to the Pacific, so much that I am doing it again (4,200 miles, or 6,700 kilometers).  As a route leader, I will have added responsibility of supporting the other riders/participants.  I will ride one day and drive the van the next day, so on my off bike days I will run.  Now, I only have to figure out how to work swimming into the summer training plan.  I will also be fundraising again for this charity, biking the U.S. for M.S. raises funds and awareness for Multiple Sclerosis.  The Northern Tier Route, goes from Maine to Seattle, passing well, the northern states.  I am so excited to see you all along the way.  I will post more about the ride in coming weeks after I return to the States. (Off the top of my head, Marion – can you meet me in New Hampshire or Vermont, Tara – same with you, Joanne – see you in Buffalo, Kathleen and Kris – see you in Cleveland or Geneva, Mary – can you make Indiana or Illinois?  Who lives in North Dakota or Montana? Don R. – which state will I see you?  so excited.)  

For those of you not familiar with the Ironman distance, it consists of a 2.4-mile (3.86 km) swim, a 112-mile (180.25 km) bicycle ride and a marathon 26.2-mile (42.2 km) run, raced in that order and without a break. There is a strict time limit of 17 hours to complete the race, where the Ironman race starts at 7:00 AM, the mandatory swim cut off for the 2.4-mile (3.9 km) swim is 2 hours 20 minutes, the bike cut off time is 5:30 PM, and all finishers must complete their marathon by midnight. 

I once said it takes a village to support the participant to get to the finish line.  I hope you will join me, race weekend.  Let me know as I will plan to rent a house if you are joining me. 

Live large, chase your dreams… they are within reach. 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

