End of the year, fiscal giving

In December, many organizations ask for help with a tax deductible donation. If you are in the spirit of giving, please consider a donation to support me via the Big City Mountaineers.

In July, while biking across the U.S. I received the latest edition of Backpacker Magazine in one of my care packages. In the opening pages of the magazine was a letter from the editor proposing an essay contest to his readers: tell us why you would be a good team member to climb and summit Mt. Whitney (located in southern CA, highest peak in continental US 14,505 ft.) and you’ll be rewarded with a small feature in the magazine and support from a professional team to climb, all while giving back. If selected, you are asked to raise $4,000 to support Big City Mountainers, a non-profit that provides critical life skills to urban youth through the outdoors.

Well, I was one of the selected and will climb and hopefully summit my first mountain in April 2013.

I don’t know where I would be in life if I was not given the opportunity to experience nature and the outdoors. It is fair to say, I might not have experienced a certain type of happiness. I support this organization and I hope you will too.

Please click this link to donate:
Www.summitforsomeone.org/donate

Click on “Donate to Climbers”
Please type my name: Liane Lau followed by year: 2013
click the search button
Each donor will receive an email providing a tax deductible receipt.

For checks, please make payable to Big City Mountaineers
In the memo line of the check write “SFS Liane Lau”
Mail donation checks to:
Big City Mountaineers
attn: summit for someone
1667 vine street
Denver, CO 80206

Thank you for your consideration and supporting me and the kids of Big City Mountaineers.

20121205-220811.jpg

20121205-220830.jpg

4 responses

Leave a Reply

