Namaste Nepal.

It is difficult to recap the last 4 weeks in Nepal, 19 days with my trekking group, 14 days on the mountain. I feel blessed to have seen the Himalayas. It has been one of the most beautiful and majestic places I have ever been.

It was a challenging trek as I became increasingly sick every day. My cold started before I arrived to Nepal, and I never gave myself the time to recover and rest. We pushed harder and higher every day, finally reaching Everest Base Camp at 18,000 feet. I tried every type of medication in two weeks, finally starting anitbiotics on our descent.

I washed my hair (not very well) in an aluminium bowl on Day 9, only because it started to dread. I gave myself a birthday present of washing my hair with hot water and a taking a shower on the last day of our trek, Day 14.

We were invited to our trip leader’s home in Namache, where he shared with us, stories of his family, his culture and his journey from being a monk to a trip leader.

We played cards most evenings, struggling to stay awake past 8 p.m.

In October, Nepal celebrates a Hindu festival for the entire month (children are off from school), but only offers one day off for Buddhists and Muslim holidays.

Porters earn $7-$12 a day carrying 50-115 kilos. Everything is carried up the mountain, from plywood to kerosene.

I bought a snickers bar and a can of Pringles at a tea lodge above 14,000 feet. The cost equaled half a nights rent.

I walked above tree line.

I played tag at 16,000 feet on the trail and was left winded after sprinting only 50 meters.

Sherpa with a capital S refers to a people. s with a lower case refers to a guide.

After this trip, I recognize my limit for winter camping is likely 7 consecutive days, not 14. I should have brought with me my alpine jacket and I should have spent more money on a warmer sleeping bag. I pushed myself through my sickness, likely by sheer will to get to Everest and it was an incredible experience that I will have for the rest of my life.

I already feel as if I left my heart in the Himalayas, mostly with my favorite mountains Pumori, and Ama Damblam. Maybe I might return one day to summit.

I miss our new Nepali friends already, our chef, helpers, guides and staff – all who lead us to safety and cared for us like family.

Next up Hong Kong… pictures from trek coming soon, when I have better wi-fi.

2 responses

  1. So glad to hear from you. It sounds like you had an amazing experience. It is no suprise to me that you pushed through being sick and finished your journey. I can’t wait to see pictures, although I know full well that a photograph can not begin to capture the images you saw with your eyes. Jim and I are heading to Las Vegas on Monday and will leave from there to do some hiking in Zion National Park, Grand Staircase, Lake Powell, down to the Grand Canyon, Sedona, and then finally Phoenix where we fly home. I am so excited to be getting back to the canyons!

Leave a Reply

