Rest day

On our rest day, I am staying with my friend, N. who lives in Roanoke. I love being in her home, where she has a bed, wi-fi, hot water and electricity. It’s revolutionary to be awake past sunlight hours. It’s only been 6 days and I already feel like a caveman.

We ate a wonderful meal Wednesday night at Firefly in downtown Roanoke: tofu, asparagus and wild rice

20120606-231407.jpg

Thursday, we had a great breakfast at her home then went to the bike shop for new cleats and covers. No one seems to sell girl bibs.

The afternoon we watched “Snow White and the Huntsman”. In this version, Snow White is a fierce fighter and compassionate woman, everything a girl wants to be. Charlize Theron made a good witch/step mom. There was a character named William, and I’ve never met a William I didn’t like. 🙂 There was also a preview for “Rock the ages”, which I hope to watch on our next rest day.

We spent the evening at the preview opening of the summer season exhibitions at Taubman Museum of Art. The guest speaker was Wayne White. I hadn’t heard of him before but he was entertaining and I enjoyed his installation about Roanoke’s emergence in the 1880’s. The museum also had Dorothea Lange’s work on display. I love her ability to capture the essence of America during the Great Depression. She moved to San Francisco and knew she wanted to be a photographer even before she owed a camera.

Below are photos from the gallery. My favorite unnamed piece was the guy sitting on a bench made out of clear packing tape.

20120607-222819.jpg

20120607-222830.jpg

20120607-222846.jpg

20120607-222853.jpg

20120607-222839.jpg

5 Comments

  1. Liane, I haven’t had a chance to reply but I’m enjoying your blog and living vicariously through you on this journey. Happy Rest Day! Hope another one is coming up soon.

    Reply

  2. Liane, I am reading and very much enjoying your blog. I am so jealous of your adventure. Keep up the good work. Remember the tortoise beat the rabbit. Goooooo Liane!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

